Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Heartland Community Schools

Student Activities


Ajax Loading Image


FBLA Members attend the Nebraska State Leadership Conference

2021-22 Heartland FBLA Chapter

Thirty-six Heartland FBLA members attended the Nebraska State Leadership Conference in Kearney on April 11-13. Seventeen students won 23 awards during the three-day conference. Students attending the conference along with adviser Kristy Most and parent chaperone Sarah Goertzen were: (Seniors) Ashley Brown, Cynthia Cerveny, Ella Friesen, Elizabeth Mestl, Dawson Ohrt, Ayden Rea, Mason Regier, Abigael Stebbing, and Kale Wetjen; (Juniors) Liliana Alvarez, Tucker Bergen, Lilly Carr, Eloise Casper, Riley Goertzen, Savannah Hurlbut, Felicity Johnson, Owen Mierau, Trev Peters, and Garett Regier; (Sophomores) Kaylee Goertzen, Hayden Mierau, Naoni Onnen, Hunter Perez, Hudson Regier, Reese Regier, Ava Stebbing, Hendric Switzer, Mariah Tessman, and Nicholas Thieszen; (Freshmen) Jaelyn Brown, Brady Goertzen, Lydia Jahnke, Isabel Johnson, Siddalee Kliewer, Weston Ohrt, and Austin Schmidt.


The keynote speaker of the Opening Session was Brooks Harper. He is from Columbia, South Carolina, and is an author, speaker, and career expert. His keynote led students through the steps to develop, market, and sell their talents, skills, and abilities to bring tangible value to the marketplace. Turn learning into earning! The leadership conference was filled with testing, presenting and job interviewing. The group also enjoyed swimming, bowling, and miniature golfing. The top eight winners in each event were announced at the Awards Program on Wednesday morning.  The students who placed in the top of each event will represent Nebraska at the National Leadership Conference in Chicago this summer.  


The following students won top eight awards:  


Austin Schmidt

1st Introduction to Business Concepts

1st Word Processing

2nd Introduction to Information Technology

4th Introduction to Financial Math 


Lydia Jahnke

2nd Introduction to Business Concepts


Dawson Ohrt and Kale Wetjen

3rd Sports and Entertainment Management


Hendric Switzer

3rd Introduction to Business Concepts


Kaylee Goertzen

3rd Introduction to Business Procedures


Brady Goertzen, Weston Ohrt and Austin Schmidt

3rd International Business


Tucker Bergen, Trev Peters and Kale Wetjen

4th Entrepreneurship


Elizabeth Mestl

5th Word Processing 


Nicholas Thieszen

5th Accounting I


Isabel Johnson

5th Introduction to Business Procedures


Riley Goertzen, Dawson Ohrt and Abigael Stebbing

6th Marketing


Owen Mierau

7th Computer Problem Solving


Kaylee Goertzen and Ava Stebbing

7th Publication Design


The following students won Honorable Mention awards which recognized those who placed in the top 4% of each competitive event:  


Kale Wetjen Economics

Hendric Switzer Accounting I

Nicholas Thieszen Introduction to Business Procedures

Lydia Jahnke Introduction to Business Communication

Weston Ohrt Introduction to Business Concepts and Introduction to Business Procedures


Kale Wetjen earned Who’s Who in Nebraska FBLA for our chapter.  


Congratulations to all members for a great conference!!