Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Heartland Community Schools

Our District


Ajax Loading Image


Annual Academic Letter of Intent Signing, 2023


Annual Academic Letter of Intent Signing, 2023

Most of us are familiar with the athletic National Letter of Intent ceremonies held in the spring at high schools across the country.  In 2017, Heartland Community Schools held the first Academic Letter of Intent ceremony for students that also excel in the Classroom.   The criteria for recognition is for the student to accept a scholarship from the college they will attend that is specifically awarded for academic achievement. 

Wednesday, April 26, we invited the students’ and their parents, along with Heartland High School students, staff and college personnel  to commemorate the hard work of these students in the classroom.  Language within the academic letter of intent signed by students speaks of their commitment to continued focus on excellence in the classroom and giving of their talents to the college they are attending. By signing, they are making a public statement that they will work diligently to maintain their established pattern of academic excellence beyond high school.  Congratulations! 




College Attending

Majoring in...

Name of Scholarship

Jake Regier

Bethel College

Exercise Science

Thresher Academic Scholarship 

Merrick Maltsberger

Bethel College


Thresher Academic Scholarship

Madelyn Maltsberger

Bethel College

Elementary Education

Thresher Academic Scholarship

Zachariah Quiring

Dordt University


Dordt University Trustees Scholarship

Ruby Kliewer

Hastings College


Hastings College Ambassador Scholarship

Garett Regier

Nebraska Wesleyan

Double Major in Sports Management and Business

1. Nebraska Wesleyan University Board of Governors Scholarship

 2. N.W.U. Achievement Scholarship

 3. Huge-NWU Recognition Scholarship 

Savannah Huebert

Oral Roberts University


Oral Roberts University Quest Scholarship

Reeve Oswald

Southeast Community College

Electrical & Electromechanical Tech

SCC Foundation High School Scholar Scholarship and the Larry Meyer Scholarship-Milford

Cole Miller

Southeast Community College

Electromechanical Technology

SCC Academic Excellence Scholarship, Norman Kohout Scholarship, SCC Foundation High Scholars, Career Academy Scholars-Wallce & Kathleen Hare

Wyatt Panko

University of Nebraska-LIncoln

Mechanized Systems Management

University of Nebraska Lincoln's Husker Power Scholarship

Riley Goertzen

University of Nebraska-LIncoln

Business Administration

University of Nebraska-Lincoln Husker Power Scholarship

Felicity Johnson

University of Nebraska-LIncoln

Business Administration

University of Lincoln-Nebraska Regents Scholarship

Grace Regier

University of Nebraska-LIncoln

Pre-Veterinary Medicine

University of Nebraska-Lincoln Regents Scholarship, CASNR Scholarship, Outstanding Pre-Vet Student Scholarship

Trev Peters

University of Nebraska-Lincoln


Husker Power Scholarship

Owen Mierau

University of Nebraska-Lincoln


Husker Traditions Scholarship

Tucker Bergen

University of Nebraska-Lincoln


Husker Power Scholarship

Samantha Adamson

Whitworth College


Whitworth Academic Scholarship

Lilly Carr

York University


York University Trustees Scholarship